NOTICE OF DEMAND FOR PAYMENT OF DISHONORED CHECK

	You a	are hereby notified that Check No
dated, drawn on t	he	
(bank or financial institution), of		(city), in the amount of \$
, bearing the signa	uture of	has been returned
unpaid with the notation that payment ha	as been refused beca	nuse of
	Y	our attention is called to the laws of the State
with reference to checks, extracts of whi	ch laws appear belo	ow, and demand is hereby made for the
payment of the above-mentioned check,	in accordance with	law.
DATED:	REMIT TO:	
	ADDRESS:	

Extracts from Minnesota Statutes Relating to the Issuance of a Check Without Sufficient Funds and the Penalty Therefore

SECTION 609.535, Subd. 2 and Subd. 2a(a), provides Whoever issues a check which, at the time of issuance, he/she intends shall not be paid may be sentenced as follows:

- 1. To imprisonment for not more than five years or to payment of a fine of not more than \$10,000.00, or both, if the value of the dishonored check, or checks aggregated, is more than \$500.00; or
- 2. To imprisonment for not more than one year or to payment of a fine of not more than \$3,000.00, or both, if the value of the dishonored check, or checks aggregated, is more than \$250.00, but not more than \$500.00; or
- 3. To imprisonment for not more than 90 days or to payment of a fine of not more than 1,000.00, or both, if the value of the dishonored check, or checks aggregated, is not more than \$250.00.

In addition, and in any case, restitution may be ordered by the Court.

Any of the following is evidence sufficient to sustain a finding that the person at the time the issuer issued the check intended it should not be paid:

- 1. Proof that, at the time of issuance, the issuer did not have an account with the drawee; or
- 2. Proof that, at the time of issuance, the issuer did not have sufficient funds or credit with the drawee and that the issuer failed to pay the check within five business days after mailing of notice of nonpayment or dishonor; or
- 3. Proof that, when presentment was made within a reasonable time, the issuer did not have sufficient funds or credit with the drawee and that the issuer failed to pay the check within five business days after the mailing of the notice of nonpayment or dishonor.

Unless the check is paid in full within five business days after the mailing of this Notice, the payee or holder of the check may refer this matter to the proper authorities for prosecution under the law.

Pursuant to Minnesota Statute Section 609.535, Subd. 8, PLEASE TAKE NOTICE that if the check is not paid in full within <u>five</u> (5) business days after mailing of this Notice, the drawee will be authorized to release information relating to the account to the payee or holder of the check and may also release this information to law enforcement or prosecuting authorities.