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Minnesota Statutes
Minnesota State Statute requires that children attend school.
Truancy/Educational Neglect is a violation of Minnesota State law.
2023


CHAPTER 120A. EDUCATION CODE; ATTENDANCE; SCHOOL CALENDAR

120A.22 COMPULSORY INSTRUCTION
§Subd 1. Parental responsibility.
The parent of a child is primarily responsible for assuring that the child acquires knowledge and skills that are essential for effective citizenship.

Subd. 5. Ages and terms. (a) Every child between seven and 17 years of age must receive instruction unless the child has graduated. Every child under the age of seven who is enrolled in a half-day kindergarten, or a full-day kindergarten program on alternate days, or other kindergarten programs shall receive instruction. Except as provided in subdivision 6, a parent may withdraw a child under the age of seven from enrollment at any time.
Subd. 8.Withdrawal from school. Any student who is 17 years old who seeks to withdraw from school, and the student's parent or guardian must:
(1) attend a meeting with school personnel to discuss the educational opportunities available to the student, including alternative educational opportunities; and
(2) sign a written election to withdraw from school



TRUANCY VERSUS EDUCATIONAL NEGLECT

260A.01 TRUANCY PROGRAMS AND SERVICES
(a) The programs in this chapter are designed to provide a continuum of intervention and services to support families and children in keeping children in school and combating truancy and educational neglect. School districts, county attorneys, and law enforcement may establish the programs and coordinate them with other community-based truancy services in order to provide the necessary and most effective intervention for children and their families. This continuum of intervention and services involves progressively intrusive intervention, beginning with strong service-oriented efforts at the school and community level and involving the court's authority only when necessary.


260A.02 DEFINITIONS
Subd 3. Continuing truant. "Continuing truant" means a child who is subject to the compulsory instruction requirements of section 120A.22 and is absent from instruction in a school, as defined in section 120A.05, without valid excuse within a single school year for:
(1) Three days if the child is in elementary school; or
(2) Three or more class periods on three days if the child is in middle school, junior high school, or high school.
Nothing in this section shall prevent a school district or charter school from notifying a truant child's parent or legal guardian of the child's truancy or otherwise addressing a child's attendance problems prior to the child becoming a continuing truant.

260A.03 NOTICE TO PARENT OR GUARDIAN WHEN CHILD IS A CONTINUING TRUANT
Upon a child's initial classification as a continuing truant, the school attendance officer or the designated school official shall notify the child's parent or legal guardian, by first-class mail or other reasonable means, of the following:

(1) that the child is truant;

(2) that the parent or guardian should notify the school if there is a valid excuse for the child's absences;

(3) that the parent or guardian is obligated to compel the attendance of the child at school pursuant to section 120A.22 and parents or guardians who fail to meet this obligation may be subject to prosecution under section 120A.34;

(4) that this notification serves as the notification required by section 120A.34;

(5) that alternative educational programs and services may be available in the child's enrolling or resident district;

(6) that the parent or guardian has the right to meet with appropriate school personnel to discuss solutions to the child's truancy;

(7) that if the child continues to be truant, the parent and child may be subject to juvenile court proceedings under chapter 260C;

(8) that if the child is subject to juvenile court proceedings, the child may be subject to suspension, restriction, or delay of the child's driving privilege pursuant to section 260C.201

(9) that it is recommended that the parent or guardian accompany the child to school and attend classes with the child for one day.














CHAPTER 260C. JUVENILE SAFETY AND PLACEMENT

260C.007 HABITUAL TRUANT 
Subd.19. Habitual Truant:  Habitual truant" means a child under the age of 17 years who is absent from attendance at school without lawful excuse for seven school days per school year if the child is in elementary school or for one or more class periods on seven school days per school year if the child is in middle school, junior high school, or high school or a child who is 17 years of age who is absent from attendance at school without lawful excuse for one or more class periods on seven school days per school year and who has not lawfully withdrawn from school under section 120A.22, subdivision 8.

*Allowing for a margin of error in attendance records, the school is required to report that the student is in violation of the compulsory attendance laws after seven unexcused absences.  At this level, one final intervention is attempted (Truancy Diversion) in lieu of court.


EDUCATIONAL NEGLECT

260E.03 Subd. 15(a)(4) FAILURE TO ENSURE EDUCATION
Chronic school absences may be an indicator of other concerns in the family, such as unaddressed mental health or chemical health issues of the child or parent, or undisclosed forms of other child maltreatment. Failure to ensure education means the person responsible for a child’s care has not ensured that a child is enrolled in school and is attending school according to the expectations of the school district, and that a child is not otherwise in compliance with statutory requirements defined in M.S 120A.22 and M.S 260C.163, subd. 11.

*Pre-diversion meetings are encouraged but not required, prior to filing an educational neglect report. To request a pre-diversion for educational neglect, contact CSSintakereports@carvercountymn.gov


















CARVER COUNTY PROCESS FOR TRUANCY AND EDUCATIONAL NEGLECT

School Response 




Step 1: 3 Unexcused Absences:
· School shall notify the parent or legal guardian. 
· School meeting with the student. 

Step 2: 5 Unexcused Absences: Continuing Truant 
Pre-Diversion Meeting (Warning meeting):
· School personnel sends 2nd notification to parent/legal guardian AND
· Request a pre-diversion meeting:
· Contact Ashley Kempf or Diane Wickenhauser at Truancy@carvercountymn.gov to schedule a pre-diversion meeting for truancy cases. 
OR:
· Contact Child and Family Intake (Emily Schultz or Emmalee Eide) at CSSintakereports@carvercountymn.gov to schedule a pre-diversion meeting. An assessment worker will reach out to you regarding the meeting. 
· School personnel will contact the parent/legal guardian regarding the truancy or educational neglect pre-diversion meeting.  
· The pre-diversion meeting shall include, the student, parent/guardian, school staff and Carver County Social Worker. The meeting takes approximately 30 minutes. Parents are required to attend the pre-diversion meeting. 
· At this point there is not an open case with the county. This is the last attempt in case planning with the student and family, without having an open truancy or educational neglect case with Carver County.
· Students will only receive ONE pre-diversion meeting per school year, regardless of students transferring schools throughout the school year. 

Step 3: 7 Unexcused Absences:  Habitual Truant
*After a pre-diversion meeting or numerous attempts are made for meeting. 
Truancy Diversion Meeting (Contract meeting):
· School staff will fill out the referral form, including all requested documents outlined in the referral.
· Referrals can be sent to: CSSintakereports@carvercountymn.gov 
· A meeting is scheduled by the assigned County Social Worker. 
· Contract meetings are held at the school with the County Social Worker, school personnel, student, and parent/ legal guardian. 
· *Note: Carver County will no longer be accepting truancy referrals for students who are skipping classes, while in the school building. 

*Truancy referral cutoff date: Friday April 18th, 2025







Educational Neglect Report filed with Carver County: 7 unexcused absences. 
· School staff will fill out the Ed Neglect Referral form/written report, including all requested documents outlined in the referral.
· Call Child and Family Intake at 952-361-1600 and make a verbal educational neglect report.
· Email or fax the report to Intake at: 952-361-1660 or CSSIntakereports@carvercountymn.gov  
· An assessment meeting is scheduled by the assigned Assessment Social Worker. 
· Parent/Legal Guardian must attend the Assessment Meeting. 

**Any further questions please call 952-361-1600 and ask to speak to Child & Family Intake.


CARVER COUNTY POLICY FOR EXCUSED ABSENCES:

Any student between the ages of 7 and 17 years old, who accumulates 12-15 excused absences throughout a school year and their academics are being negatively affected by their attendance, can be referred to Carver County Health and Human Services to be considered for Educational Neglect. Excused absences can include, but are not limited to, parental excuses for students and/or excuses without a doctor/medical note. The school is required to make initial efforts to remedy attendance issues with the parents and student (phone calls, meeting with parents, letters, etc) prior to making an Educational Neglect Referral.



15 DAY DROP STUDENTS: 

Any student who is dropped at 15 days AND the school has not received a request for records from another school, should file an educational neglect referral with Carver County intake, to be considered for educational neglect. 















(Updated 9/2024)SCHOOL TRUANCY/EDUCATIONAL NEGLECT REFERRAL FORM 


Truancy Referral:____ Educational Neglect Referral: ____            

	Referral Date:
	
	Student’s Name:
	

	DOB:
	
	Age:
	
	Gender:
	
	Grade:
	

	Address:
	
	Phone #:
	

	Hispanic Heritage:   ☐ Yes    ☐ No
	Disability:   ☐ Yes    ☐ No

	IEP:   ☐ Yes    ☐ No
	504 Plan:    ☐ Yes    ☐ No

	Preferred Language:
	
	Interpreter Needed?   ☐ Yes    ☐ No

	Race:   ☐ Caucasian     ☐ Black/AA     ☐ Asian     ☐ American Indian     ☐ Other  

	Student Lives With:
	                                                     Pronouns: 

	
	



	Guardian Name:
	

	Relationship to Student:
	                                                      Pronouns: 

	Address:
	

	Preferred Language:
	
	Interpreter Needed?
	☐ Yes      ☐ No

	Phone – Cell/Other:
	
	Email:
	




	Guardian Name:
	

	Relationship to Student:
	                                                      Pronouns: 

	Address:
	

	Preferred Language:
	
	Interpreter Needed?
	☐ Yes      ☐ No

	Phone – Cell/Other:
	
	Email:
	



	School:
	
	District:
	

	Contact Person:
	
	Title:
	

	Phone:
	






Supplemental Questions:

1. Pre-Referral Efforts: 
☐ Meeting with student
☐ Communication with parents   
☐ Pre-Diversion meeting with the County
☐ Other – Please explain:  		

1st school attempt: Date: _____________________ 
Explanation of intervention: _________________________________________________

2nd school attempt: Date: _____________________
Explanation of intervention: ___________________________________________________

2. Strengths:  Please list the student’s strengths and interests.










3. Attendance History:
a) When did the student begin to have attendance problems?











b) Student’s involvement with other agencies and/or referral is made: 
ex: probation, child protection, mental health, chemical health, etc.  











c) Mental Health Concerns:
☐ Unknown     ☐ Suspected     ☐ Confirmed











d) Chemical Health Concerns:
☐ Unknown     ☐ Suspected     ☐Confirmed















e) Attendance impact on the student – Check all that apply:
☐ Academics
☐ Social Connections:  Friends and/or school staff
☐ Parent/Child Conflict
☐ Mental Health 
☐ Chemical Health 
☐ Legal Consequences
☐ Safety and Stability 
☐ Runaway
☐ Other:			







**ATTACH ATTENDANCE RECORDS & ANY RELEVANT INFORMATION
SEND TO:	Carver Health and Human Services/Attn: Intake Unit
CSSintakereports@carvercountymn.gov or Truancy@carvercountymn.gov

















TRUANCY EXPECTATIONS

THE STUDENT/CLIENT SHALL:

1. Improve school attendance over a period of time, which is also demonstrated in academic progress. 
2. Take responsibility and accountability for your class attendance-including clearing up any mistakes that may be on your attendance report. 
3. Meet with the Social Worker on a monthly basis, minimally. 
4. Respond to all correspondences from the Social Worker within 48 hours. 


THE PARENT/GUARDIAN SHALL:

1. Contact the school and the Social Worker if your child does not go to school by 9:00am that same day. 
2. For all illness absences:
a. Have your child seen by a doctor and provide school with written verification by doctor/medical provider including their return to school date OR
b. Send your child to school to be checked by school staff/nurse and released if ill.
c. A release of information for your child’s doctor, may be requested to ensure the doctor is aware of school absences. 
3. Attend all meetings scheduled by the school, the Social Worker, County Attorney’s Office and court services.
4. Actively participate in case planning to work towards case closure. 
5. Respond to all correspondences from the Social Worker within 48 hours. 


THE SOCIAL WORKER SHALL:

1. Have ongoing conversations with guardian/student/school staff regarding attendance and academic progress. 
2. Respond to all correspondences from guardians, students and network members within 48 hours. 
3. Have monthly meetings with the student. 
4. Provide consequences/rewards for not following/following the contract.
5. Case Plan with the student and family to work towards case closure. 
6. Make appropriate referrals to service providers, as needed. 
7. Consult with the County Attorney’s Office if a court petition needs to be filed due to not following the truancy contract. 

Cultural Recognition: Carver County Health & Human services recognizes cultural disparities including historical trauma.  CCHHS is committed to partnering with families to address school attendance issues with solution focused discussions that encourage and support parents to implement strategies based on their best hopes for meeting the formal educational needs of their children. 


POSSIBLE CONSEQUENCES FOR NON-COMPLIANCE WITH THE TRUANCY PROGRAM AND UNEXCUSUED ABSENCES:

1. Truancy Hours: Students could accrue “truancy hours” for having unexcused absences. Examples of how students can complete their hours include, but are not limited to: 
a. Community Work Service Hours (CWS)
b. Therapeutic Hours
c. Attend and Participate in Tree House 
d. Apply and participate in the Youth Employment Program through the CareerForce. 
e. Loss of phone privileges. 
f. Loss of parking pass privileges. 

** A deadline will be set to complete the assigned truancy hours and may impact case closure. 

2. A minimum of 14 days on Electronic Home Monitoring (EHM), paid for by the student/guardian. Every day of non-compliance/violations while on EHM will result in an extra day of EHM. 								
a. EHM Fees: $82.00 for the first 2 weeks, plus an activation fee of $30.00. An additional charge of $6.00 per day will accrue after 14 days. 
b. Violations include but are not limited to: allowing your EHM to lose a charge, absent or late to school/class and failure to follow your approved schedule. 
c. All schedules while on EHM need to be approved by the Social Worker. Schedules need to be approved 24 hours in advance and before 4:30pm on Friday, for the upcoming weekend. 

3. Random drug testing as requested by the worker. Refusal to comply with a drug test could be considered a positive test. The worker may request a hair follicle test, nail test or a sweat patch at any time at the students’/guardians’ expense. 

4. Safety Network Meetings or Family Group Decision Making meetings with extended family and friends.  

5. Further non-compliance with the truancy contract OR if there is an immediate safety concern, the worker could consult with the County Attorney’s Office about filing a CHIPS (Child in need of protection or services) Petition. If a CHIPS petition is filed and accepted, a court date will be scheduled, and the guardian and student will be summoned to attend court. 
a. Guardians are responsible for all court fees/guardian ad litem (GAL) fees and attending all court hearings. GAL fees are approximately $1000.00
b. Guardians will be obliged to follow the same court order as their child and could be asked to participate in any recommended services. 
c. Attorney(s) and a Guardian ad Litem will be assigned to the case and will be required to meet with the child and guardians prior to every court hearing. Attorneys and GAL will be involved in case planning.  
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Carver County Health and Human Services Truancy Contract
Student Name: _________________________
Effective from: _________________________	Effective to: _________________________

Reason for Referral (Harm Statement):
__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Truancy Concerns (Danger Statement):

CCHHS is worried about students who miss school, as research shows that school absence is a risk factor for substance use, criminal behavior, poor grades, development of poor life habits, and lack of social skills, friendships and connection to the school. 
__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Goals to Be Achieved: 
· Goal 1: Improved school attendance over a period of time, which is also seen in academic progress. 
· Goal 2: Minimal worry about safety concerns, which could include, but are not limited to: substance abuse, mental health concerns and/or additional at risk behaviors at home, school & in the community. 
· Goal 3: _____________________________________________________________________________

Steps to achieve these goals:
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Scaling Question: 

_______________________0_____________________________________________10______________________

_______________________0_____________________________________________10______________________

_______________________0_____________________________________________10______________________


Case Closure: The length of the case will be dependent on the confidence, willingness and ability to comply with the truancy contract, by all parties involved. 
Agency Bottom Lines:
· Student shall attend school on time, every day and to every class.  Any absences shall be excused by a doctor, the school nurse or school staff.  
· Improved behavior at home, in the school and in the community, such as:  no reports of violent behaviors or threats, no reports of drug use, no reports of running away, skipping school or breaking the law.
· Social worker and student shall meet at least one time a month.   
· Parents shall accurately report the student’s attendance/behavior to the Social Worker and School Staff. 
· Follow all Truancy Expectations.

**Failure to comply with the truancy contract will result in alternative plans that may include, but are not limited to: Community work service, random drug testing, electronic home monitoring, family network meetings and potential court action that could lead to out of home placement. 

We could not agree on these goals/actions:
__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
______ This plan is also considered as the TCM service plan and signatures below are indicating that TCM services will be provided.  The Truancy Social Worker will meet face to face with the student at least once a month or with additional service providers or parents as identified in this plan. 

Signatures

	Signature:
	Date:
	This plan was explained to me. 
	I received a copy of this plan.

	Student 

Name:_______________________________

Signature:____________________________
	
	
______Yes

______No
	
______Yes

______No

	Parent/Guardian

Name:______________________________

Signature:___________________________
	
	
______Yes

______No
	
______Yes

______No

	Parent/Guardian

Name:______________________________

Signature:___________________________
	
	
______Yes

______No
	
______Yes

______No

	Social Worker

Name:______________________________

Signature:___________________________
	
	
______Yes

______No
	
______Yes

______No

	Supervisor 

Name:_____________________________

Signature:__________________________
	
	
______Yes

______No
	
______Yes

______No


Contact us!
*Please note the updated email addresses

CHILD AND FAMILY INTAKE
Phone: (952)-361-1600
CSSintakereports@carvercountymn.gov 



JESSICA BERNIER, MSW LGSW
Child & Family Supervisor
Phone: (952) 361-1646
jbernier@carvercountymn.gov





ALICIA DONAHUE, MSW, LICSW
Child & Family Supervisor
Phone: (612) 398-4489
adonahue@carvercountymn.gov




ASHLEY KEMPF, MSW
Social Worker II - Truancy
Phone: (612) 219-3016
akempf@carvercountymn.gov




 DIANE WICKENHAUSER
 Social Worker II - Truancy
 Phone: (612) 270-8107
 dwickenh@carvercountymn.gov
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