THE MINNESOTA

C O U N T Y A T T O R N E Y S

A S S O C I A T I O N

NEWS RELEASE FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE FOR MORE INFORMATION CONTACT: ROBERT SMALL 651-641-1600

MARK METZ ELECTED PRESIDENT OF THE MINNESOTA COUNTY ATTORNEYS ASSOCIATION

Mark Metz, Carver County Attorney, will lead the Minnesota County Attorneys Association (MCAA) over the next 12 months. Metz was elected president during the Association's annual meeting on December 2nd.

Nicollet County Attorney Michelle Zehnder Fischer was elected presidentelect of the Association, Cook County Attorney Molly Hicken was elected secretary, and Winona County Attorney Karin Sonneman was elected treasurer.

"It is an honor to lead the MCAA and its members. I look forward to working with our members and our partners in improving the quality of justice and supporting their efforts to protect the rights and safety of people in Minnesota." Metz has served on the MCAA Board of Directors since 2014 and was first elected Carver County Attorney in November 2010. Prior to becoming the Carver County attorney, he was an assistant county attorney in both Carver and McLeod Counties. "We are lucky to have such a talented person who gives so generously of himself to the profession and to the MCAA as our President," said MCAA executive director Robert Small.

The Minnesota County Attorneys Association is the statewide professional association for all elected 87 county attorneys and their assistants (over 800 attorneys). The Association provides leadership on legal and public policy issues, fosters communication and cooperation among its members, and offers legal training to enhance professionalism among the county attorney offices.

The following page lists the officers and directors of the Association for 2022.

NOMINATING COMMITTEE REPORT December 2021

The Nominating Committee of the Minnesota County Attorneys Association recommends the following individuals for service as officers and directors for the period of December 2021 to December 2022.

President:	Director:	Mark Metz, Carver County Attorney
President-Elect:	Director:	Michelle Zehnder Fischer, Nicollet County Attorney
Secretary:	Director:	Molly Hicken, Cook County Attorney
Treasurer:	Director:	Karin Sonneman, Winona County Attorney
Immediate Past President:	Director:	Janet Reiter, Chisago County Attorney
	Director:	Shane Baker, Kandiyohi County Attorney
	Director:	John Choi, Ramsey County Attorney
	Director:	Jeff Edblad, Isanti County Attorney
	Director:	Michelle Eldien, Otter Tail County Attorney
	Director:	Michael Freeman, Hennepin County Attorney
	Director:	Kathleen Heaney, Sherburne County Attorney
	Director:	Ron Hocevar, Scott County Attorney
	Director:	Michael Junge, McLeod County Attorney
	Director:	Kathy Keena, Dakota County Attorney
	Director:	John Kelly, First Assistant Ramsey County Attorney
	Director:	Kyra Ladd, Wadena County Attorney
	Director:	Richard R. Maes, Lyon County Attorney
	Director:	Kimberly Maki, St. Louis County Attorney
	Director:	Dominick Mathews, Managing Hennepin County Attorney
	Director:	Pat McDermott, Blue Earth County Attorney
	Director:	Barbara McFadden, Kanabec County Attorney
	Director:	Daniel McIntosh, Steele County Attorney
	Director:	Kristen Nelsen, Mower County Attorney
	Director:	Peter Orput, Washington County Attorney
	Director:	Mark Ostrem, Olmsted County Attorney
	Director:	Tony Palumbo, Anoka County Attorney
	Director:	Don Ryan, Crow Wing County Attorney
	Director:	Brandi Schiefelbein, Meeker County Attorney
	Director:	Greg Widseth, Polk County Attorney

NDAA State Director:

Mark Ostrem, Olmsted County Attorney

Submitted by the 2021 Nominating Committee:

Mark Metz, Carver County Attorney, Chair; Molly Hicken, Cook County Attorney; Ron Hocevar, Scott County Attorney; Barb McFadden, Kanabec County Attorney; Michelle Zehnder Fischer, Nicollet County Attorney.