CHECK ACCEPTANCE CHECKLIST

Record or circle the identification number (DL # D-123-123-123)
Have employee initial upper left corner
Record home or work telephone number
Record date of birth (i.e. DOB 1/29/72)
Make sure photo on identification card matches customer
Make sure the identification card matches name and address on the check
Check the signatures on the identification card and match this signature to the signature on the check (endorsement line). If these signatures do not match, acceptance should be declined

The following signage is required by Minnesota law to allow merchants to enforce collection of service charges and civil penalties. This must be posted where your customers can see the service charge at the time the check is accepted by the merchant. Copy as needed.

IT'S AGAINST THE LAW TO WRITE A BAD CHECK IN MINNESOTA

Checks returned to us for nonpayment are subject to a service charge of

\$30

Additional civil penalty may be imposed on checks returned for nonpayment after 30 days.

MN Statute 604.113

Minnesota Retail Merchants